GAMES HAVE RULES – PLAY TO WIN

It is a game…and there are rules.

– Sam Semako

FB_IMG_15774657238605509

“Play by the rules.” – SMK

Life is a game.

Relationship is a game.

Social media is a game.

Business is a game.

Entrepreneurship is a game.

Money making is a game.

Marriage is a game.

Office politics is a game.

Publishing your book is a game.

Friendship is a game.

Writing is a game.

Sex is a game.

Everything is a game.

There are dirty games, and there are clean games. You determine which one you want to play in.

There are games of chance, and there are games of certainty. You determine which of one you want to play in.

If you want your game to change, you will have to play by higher rules.

If your want to play a higher game, the rules will have to change.

In 2004 I went back to the city I finished my university from. I decided to visit the university I had graduated from. I went in and headed towards  a place called ANNEX.

Annex is 2 buildings beside the convocation ground. The ground itself used to be the football pitch when it wasn’t a university but a compound for a hosts of secondary schools.

The Annex is also close to a place called L & H.

L & H means Languages and Humanities. This consist of 2 sets of long, one storey buildings.

While I was heading towards Annex, not far from L & H (my back turned towards L & H and my facing Annex), I met a guy and a lady. They were from my department, Philosophy. They were part of the sets we left behind in school.

They were glad to see me. We were talking when I saw students running. I was wondering what was happening.

I looked back, because it seemed what was causing the uproar was behind me. What I saw was a double barrel gun and I saw two young men running towards my direction. One of them was the one pointing the double barrel gun. When I turned back to look at the guy and the lady who were excited to see me, they had ran for their dear lives. I was left standing there.

I stood UNMOVED!

UNSHAKEN!!

I stayed.

I knew I don’t play such a game. And neither did I played it when I was there.

They kept running towards me. And they ran past me. VERY CLOSE!

Their object of concern was another young student who also ran past me.

They kept chasing him till he fell inside a drainage close to Annex, then the guy with the double barrell gun shot him. The other without the gun, raised his own shirt, removed an axe, raised it up and cut the young student already shot. When they were done, they started walking away from the dead student and walked towards the Students Union building.

Few minutes later I heard gun shot.

That was a game.

Sometime you may break the rules and go scot-free. But you can’t keep breaking the rules all the times. The rule will come back and hunt you, and eventually break you.

mesh9iY3Sqr1UWYunsplash

Sometimeyou can create new rules. Those rules will come to stay as the new rules.

Rules sometime change. When they change, change too.

The rule of mass communication change some few years ago and the way we play the game now changed.

You don’t need tons of dollars to broadcast your messages. Youtube, Facebook, Twiitter, Instagram, Snapchat, etc, can all do this for you at so cheap a rate.

The rules changed.

You must master the rules of the game to become a master and a maestro at what you do – your game.

Will you ever rise to play YOUR GAME?

Will you play according to the rules?

And will ever rise up to play a higher game with a higher rules?

It is your game, determine that.

 

Few suggestions (questions):

1. Are you really good (I mean, excellent) at what you do?

If “yes”, how can you up it?

If “no”, so what do you want to do to move your game?

2. What are the things you will do TODAY to move the needle?

3. Who can you enlist to help you?

A coach? Mentor? A friend?

4. How can I help you improve your game?

 

Photo Credit: google.com

Leave a comment